INGREDIENT TYPES

Halal INGREDIENT 

The word Halal is an Arabic word. It means lawful or legal. The source of Halal ingredients is vegetable, plant, fish, Halal animal's meat when the animal was slaughtered according to Sharia rules and chemical origin without alcohol.

  1. The word " Vegetable" is mentioned before or in parenthesis for fat based ingredients statement of a food product; for example vegetable Mono and Diglyceride.
  2. If a Halal symbol such as "H" in triangle or kosher symbols such as U, UD, V, CRC, KMH, COR, K or KD appear on the package (without wine, alcohol, all types of gelatin, L-Cysteine from human hair), it means that the fat based ingredient is obtained from vegetable fat.
  3. Inquiry with the food manufacturer is another way of identifying them. The purpose is to verify that the ingredients are Halal or kosher certified and also to inquire about any haram processing aid ingredients which are not mentioned in the ingredients list. Sometimes manufacturer uses Halal or kosher certified ingredients without the finished product being Halal or kosher certified, bread and buns are the best examples. Some manufacturer has Halal or kosher certified products but prefers not to have the Halal or kosher symbol on their products.

Haram INGREDIENT 

Haram is opposite of Halal, means unlawful, again it is an Arabic word. Muslims are prohibited from consuming Haram food products made from Haram ingredients. They also based according to Quranic teachings and Sunnah as mentioned in sharia.

  • Haram ingredients from alcohol beverages: Beer, Beer flavor, Rum Flavor, Hard Cider, Beer Batter, Soy Sauce (Naturally brewed), Wine, Pure Alcohol as a Natural Flavor, Vanilla Extract containing alcohol.
  • Haram ingredients from the Human body: L-Cysteine from human hair.
  • Haram ingredients from Pig: Bacon, Ham, Gelatin, Enzymes, Marshmallow (pig Gelatin), Vitamins.
  • Grain/plant based ingredients with pig based carrier: Beta-carotene (pig Gelatin) and BHA/BHT (pig based carrier).
  • Dairy ingredients made from pork enzymes and culture media: Caseinates, Lactose, Whey.
  • Ingredients made from pork fat: Lard, Mono & diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Polysorbate 60 or 80.

Mushbooh

Mushbooh is an Arabic word for doubtful things. Muslims are required to stay away from doubtful things. Food products and food ingredients whose sources are not known whether they are made from Halal or Haram source fall under this category.

  • Yeast Extract from brewer's yeast (some Islamic scholars considered it Halal but to other think, it is a Mush-both ingredient).
  • Cochineal/Carmine color (Islamic scholars in the UK and South Africa considered it Haram).

IDENTIFICATION

How can the ingredients be identified as Halal in a food product?

There are three ways of identifying Halal ingredients:

  • The word " Vegetable" is mentioned before or in parenthesis for fat based ingredients statement of a food product; for example vegetable Mono and Diglyceride.
  • If a Halal symbol such as "H" in triangle or kosher symbols such as U, UD, V, CRC, KMH, COR, K or KD appear on the package (without wine, alcohol, all types of gelatin, L-Cysteine from human hair), it means that the fat based ingredient is obtained from vegetable fat.
  • Inquiry with the food manufacturer is another way of identifying them. The purpose is to verify that the ingredients are Halal or kosher certified and also to inquire about any haram processing aid ingredients which are not mentioned in the ingredients list. Sometimes manufacturer uses Halal or kosher certified ingredients without the finished product being Halal or kosher certified, bread and buns are the best examples. Some manufacturer has Halal or kosher certified products but prefers not to have the Halal or kosher symbol on their products.

This space is for advertisement

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Sponser Wanted

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your Product here

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Your Donation helps to Muslim Consumers

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your business here

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com